Capstone: Graduate Attribute 3 – Culturally responsive practice and inclusive practice

Academic

Across my studies in both education and social work, I have gained an in-depth theoretical understanding of practising in a culturally inclusive and responsive manner. This is something that I wish to continue to develop in a more practical setting across my career in social work. In an Australian context, the continuing inter-generational effects of colonisation and the devastating impact that it has had and continues to have for First Nations peoples in this country. As a result of this learning, I am determined to do everything I can in my practice to be an ally for First Nations peoples and individuals and help in the movement towards treaty and constitutional recognition as outlined by the Uluru Statement from the Heart. In particular, the course on working with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people helped me to examine how I can practice in a culturally responsive way, prioritising collaboration that embraces Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander ways of knowing, doing and being. This unit in particular helped me to understand the way that the social-work profession has contributed to colonisation through malpractice (the Stolen Generations), and that we as practitioners must work even harder to re-connect with and regain the trust of First Nations people that we are working with. I found it incredibly helpful to have a cohort of diverse background and experiences to discuss the course content with and draw out different understandings and perspectives in this space. In addition, it was amazing to study with many international students and gain insight into their experiences of culture, unfortunately often of discrimination. The importance of culturally responsive practice has been a significant element across my academic journey.

Field Education

During my field-education placements, I was mindful of theory I had learnt with relation to culturally sensitive practice and during my first placement in the high school, I had some opportunity to work with First Nations young people and attempted to be aware of and accommodate their ways of knowing, being and doing. I also worked extensively with LGBTIQ+ young people, helping to facilitate a social group each week and building friendships and working relationships within the community. I try to make connections with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders by putting out feelers as much as I can, and making the most of placement in terms of indigenous networking. In practice, this involves being aware of possible distrust and a sense of being continually let down, especially by authority figures. In particular, I spent time with the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander program within the broad organisation in which I did my final placement and appreciated the learnings and advice that I gleaned from my visits.

Personal

I have reflected extensively on my position in the world as a white, cis-gender male. I've done a significant amount of wide reading in order to figure out my place in the world and how to best help from a position of significant privilege. This privilege is at the forefront of my mind in all my interactions both personal and professional. Having done some travel and work abroad, embracing cultural diversity and being culturally responsive is one of the cornerstones of my practice. I believe this ties in well with person-centred practice that looks to understand the world from the perspective of the individual and work collaboratively alongside them to elicit solutions. I feel that person-centred practice is necessarily culturally responsive and is the core of my personal frame of practice.

https://linktr.ee/peteroram

#SocialWork #CulturallyResponsive #diversity