Graduate Attribute 2 – Professionalism

Academic

I believe that self-reflection is a critical part of professionalism (and can also be seen as a part of professional development). For me this means to ask myself questions to learn what has worked and how to do better than previously. Taking courses through the MSWQ program has helped me gain a deeper understanding of many theories for practice, and in doing so I have determined which theories are right for me and will find ways to use them throughout my career. A deeper understanding of the theories, frameworks and knowledge required for practice has enabled me to better articulate my own framework for practice and work in a way that maintains the core values ​​of AASW with regard to professionalism. Various courses, reading more widely, and listening to podcasts suggested by colleagues have helped me better understand a human-centred approach and the importance of working alongside customers, instead of working from a position of power, which is what I now seek to do in my practice. Additionally, discussions with my colleagues and tutors throughout the Master's program have helped me better understand how to maintain a professional attitude in real-world settings.  Many of these conversations involve discussions about how to manage emotions during difficult circumstances and how to prioritise self-care to avoid burnout.

Field Education

My practicum aspirations were to reflect regularly and systematically on my practice, in a continual cycle of learning and improvement; to develop clear professional boundaries between personal and work life; and to maintain self-care in order to bring the best version of myself to practice. I was able to discuss appropriate self-disclosure with colleagues as well as during supervision and was able to draw appropriate boundaries between work and personal lives. In relation to addressing the inherent power dynamic between social worker and client, I attempted to operate from a collaborative and person-centred practice framework, and tried to reduce any potential power imbalances within micro-level interactions and also systemically. At times I found it a challenge to maintain a healthy work-life balance throughout the duration of placement, and this was a regular topic of discussion during my supervision. Through the course of the placement, and with my growing sense of competence, I have been able to make time and prioritise self-care practices enabling me to have a better balance between work and my personal life.

Personal Life

I have had a number of different jobs over my life so far – including support worker, teacher, and practice manager – each with slightly different expectations and professional standards, but with some overlap. I’ve been able to learn about professional boundaries, not only on practicum, but also through my previous work as office manager for a psychiatry and psychologist practice, and I think it’s very important to keep boundaries, and this relates to professionalism. We need to act professionally in terms of confidentiality, also allowing for communication with other people involved in the clients care without breaching confidentiality. It has been essential for me to recognise and adapt across different roles, with different organisations, and operating with different policies, procedures and guidelines. I believe that it is esential to maintain strong professional boundaries in order to be the best version of myself outside of work and live life to its fullest. It is my strong belief that maintaining self-care practices and boundaries allows me to be my best professional self; to provide the best service that I can; and to support my own well-being.

https://linktr.ee/peteroram

#SocialWork #professionalism #boundaries