Had to put my baby girl Great Dane named Ivory down yesterday.

She was almost 11 years old, but still very much a puppy. She slipped on some icy steps the night before and the next morning got bloat in her stomach, meaning her stomach was actually twisted. The vet said our options were either surgery (with no guarantees, could result in complications, and a risk of her dying on the table) or euthanasia. If the condition had progressed enough, she would need to be euthanized anyway.

The average lifespan for a Great Dane is 8 years old. Ivory was almost 11. Her normal weight was 102 pounds. When I brought her in yesterday, she weighed 89 pounds.

I conferenced my boyfriend in so he could hear the vet talk and after some terrible, awful, and difficult soul searching, we decided to end her pain and let her go to rest in peace.

My heart is literally broken into pieces right now. She filled the house with so much life and personality and she was my constant companion, no matter what. All she wanted was to love and be loved.

Here's to my baby girl, who loved me when no one else did.

I love you baby. Rest in peace.