Tony's stash of textual information

BookReviews

I attempt a six-word sentence as a response to each book.

Brontë, Whitman, et al. Edited by John Boyes. “Poems that will save your life”.

How they lived, in beautiful rhyme.

Isaac Asimov. “I, Robot”. 1950.

Read more...

(Written after reading Phyllis Chesler's “Letters to a Young Feminist”, Letter Twenty-two: Letter to a young feminist, who happens to be a man, who happens to be my son.)

You're stronger than I thought. I have been delusional and ignorant to think you were weak. Forgive me for that.

Read more...

My friend (whom I met at church) introduced me to a book by Lewis Hyde, titled “The gift: how the creative spirit transforms the world”.

Read more...

I was interested in learning about the failures of democracy, anarchism and communism, respectively.

Read more...

It occurred to me that I am coming across stories of menstruation frequently.

Read more...

I have just read Kuo Pao Kun's “Keynote Address at the Southeast Asian Theatre Seminar on War”.

Read more...

I have skimmed too few pages to understand the book fully, but one thing stood out:

Read more...

Reading the first few pages of Joel Mokyr's book, “The gifts of Athena: Historical origins of the knowledge economy”.

Published in 2002, this book highlights an obvious phenomenon in 2022:

Read more...

Recently I noticed that many employers are hiring in Singapore.

Just a few examples:

I read in the news that Twitter wants to double the size of its engineering team, at its regional office in Singapore.

And a popular bakery is hiring a baker.

And a photography-focused organisation is hiring a Trainee in Arts Management, through a four-month contract.

But I read in Charles Eisenstein's (2021) book – titled “Sacred economics, revised: money, gift & society in the age of transition” – that jobs are obsolete.

Read more...

As someone residing on the island of Singapore

Read more...