Ginkgo leaves

#love

银为有你 三生有杏

Chengdu 2017

There's one episode in The Anthropocene Reviewed called Ginkgo Biloba that I will recommend everyone to learn about this plant, which is known as the living fossil on Earth.

If you are close enough to me, you'll know that I will 100% become emotionally excited when seeing those yellow leaves for no reason. Or perhaps yes but I just can't explain my silly love for ginkgo.

I started reading Detective Conan when I was in elementary school, like any other kid in Vietnam. And one of my all-time favourite cases is Ginkgo-coloured love. That's when a little kid knew about this beautiful leaf shape and colour, and was also touched by that open-ended love story of Agasa.

Detective Conan #412

Then some more years added to my life and I got to see a Korean drama Sungkyunkwan Scandal and happened to know that the ginkgo leaf is actually the logo of Sunnkyunkwan University. I could never become an exchange student at that school as I wished but succeeded in planning for my Fall semester exchange to KNU in Korea. That was so far my first and only golden fall with the ginkgo leaves.

I have a Pinterest board about ginkgo with the same name, I collect some ginkgo-leaf- shaped accessories and I search for places like botanical gardens with ginkgo trees wherever I go. My failed graduation trip of course included Xi'an for the 1000-year-old ginkgo tree. I have no particular interest in Beijing except for the 银杏大道 that was recommended by my friend. And if you live in a high-latitude region, I will definitely ask you to show me the ginkgo leaves in your neighbourhood.

It's honestly hard to tell people why I can easily get hyped or super nostalgic over these leaves. For me, it represents somewhat beautiful and romantic that just happens once per year, if I can make a trip to see it. It's something people may ignore yet the dream of a girl born in the tropical zone. I'm pretty sure I wouldn't be that obsessed if I'd grown up with that stinky smell every autumn xD

-Phuong 🐯