Practice, and All that Jazz

Of the three songs I've practiced, So What by Miles Davis is most intuitive to my fingers. And it makes sense. I've heard the song a thousand times and know it intimately. It feels second nature to me.

When I practice the classical pieces, it's like I'm handling fine china. This tentative feeling I get will no doubt thwart my progress.

So, this seems to be key to learning, or at least to the way I learn: practice music you know and love. I don't know classical music, and admitted so in an earlier post. I appreciate it's uplifting, heavenward qualities though, and who doesn't want to play piano like Chopin?

Jazz is more in tune to my sensibilities. I should stick with it.


You can follow this blog via twitter or by RSS in your favorite RSS feed reader. I also send out the occassional newsletter.