About Poseur to Composer

TL;DR: I promised to post everyday on this blog, but my new career at a homeless shelter has derailed this project. I'm trying to get back into some kind of groove again, both literally and metaphorically.


I don't know how to read, write or play music. Never did, although that didn't stop me from playing bass guitar for a local nu metal band many years ago. I was what a musician might call a poseur (or poser, if you prefer the American spelling).

Now I want to learn to read music and to play it. My reasons are chiefly cerebral: to improve my cognitive abilities and to more fully appreciate musical genres like jazz, classical and gospel hymns.

In the next 365 days, I promise to post something new I learned about music on this blog. That means everyday except Sundays until June 19, 2020 you'll see a mnemonic, or insight, audio clip... something that demonstrates I am progressing along. I'll be learning in an informal manner, from many sources and combining different methods and techniques. This may be of interest to those who want to learn music, or acquire any new skill for that matter. We can explore the learning process together.

Today is day one.

To manage expectations (both mine and yours), I'll mention that I work a full-time job outside of the home and unrelated to music. I'm a father and active church goer. I date and socialize. I'm committed to reading 100 books a year. I meditate daily and cuddle my cats regularly. This all takes time! Then there is my bilateral tendinitis (golfer's elbow on both arms)...

My point is that due to limited time and energy, I'll have to get over my perfectionism and focus on quantity over quality. Some of what I post of the next 365 days may be found wanting. It may also go in weird directions.

Let's see what happens.


You can follow this blog via @posertocomposer on twitter or by RSS in your favorite RSS feed reader (mine is NewsBlur). I also send out the occassional newsletter.