Art is...

Today was ridiculously busy and I was only able to eke out 5(!) minutes of practice. Still, I read this gem on my travels. It's from The Making of Kind of Blue: Miles Davis and His Masterpiece:

I believe that artist and audience are, in a sense, collaborators. We not only receive what the artist has to give, but we also bring our own interior worlds, our feelings and memories, to the experience. For each member of the audience, then, something new is created.

Marshall McLuhan defined art as “anything you can get away with” but I think the above passage provides a better definition: Art is something you experience and collaborate with.

Certainly So What is art of the highest order.

Meditation Time bookstanding today: 40 minutes Quality of meditation (out of 10): 5

Practice Minutes on the keyboard today (out of 40): 5 minutes Quality of practice (out of 10): 3


You can follow this blog via twitter or by RSS in your favorite RSS feed reader. I also send out the occassional newsletter.