Avoiding the Dragon... for now

Mythical creature dragon (1806) by Friedrich Johann Justin Bertuch

Playing chords and keeping a steady rhythm with my left hand while simultaneously soloing with my right is beyond my current capabilities.

I think I'll avoid that dragon for now and start simple with the “call and response” style of soloing. How it works is my left hand plays something (i.e. a sparse Bud Powell shell chord) and my right hand replies with a lick. Here's an instructional video on how to play a call and response solo.

Another method of soloing (without each hand playing separate notes and harmonies at the same time) is adding little licks and fills to a simple song or musical pattern. Check out this video by Piano Pig to see what I mean.

Either method seems like good training before I try and take on the dragon.

Meditation Time meditating today: 25 Quality of meditation (out of 10): 5

Practice Minutes on the keyboard today (out of 40): 25 minutes Quality of practice (out of 10): 6


You can follow this blog via twitter or by RSS in your favorite RSS feed reader. I also send out the occassional newsletter.