Free Musical Notation Software: The Options

I'm at a bit of a standstill here. I'm working on my first dhymn – making the hymn A Mighty Fortress Is Our God “djenty” – but have not gotten far. Basically, I'm playing the barebones melody with the right hand and adding fifths/power chords with the left to simulate “chugs”.

I'm playing around with other ideas in my head like a solo, but maybe I'll use music composition software to test them out. I have no experience using musical composition software though, even dumbed-down smartphone apps that create beats or sound loops. It's new territory for me, so I'm excited to get started.

My options for cheap/free music notation software:

MuseScore open source software is an obvious choice, although not without its problems (a must-watch video). There are also online options such as Flat.io, Noteflight and ScoreCloud which supposedly listens to your song and translates it into musical notation. Despite my disappointment with similar software Chordify, I remain cautiously optimistic.

Meditation Time bookstanding today: 20 Quality of meditation (out of 10): 5

Practice Minutes on the keyboard today (out of 40): 10 minutes Quality of practice (out of 10): 1 ... Too much on my mind, including a second job interview that went rather well.


You can follow this blog via twitter or by RSS in your favorite RSS feed reader. I also send out the occassional newsletter.