Hymns + Jazz Improvisation = ?

Today I had the idea to learn a simple church hymn and add fills and licks to that. I'd call it a “jhymn” (sounds like jim) or even better, an “hymnprovisation”. Unfortunately for me the idea isn't new (neither are the names) but I still think it's an exercise worth trying.

For a sampling of a hymn with an improvisational solo, here is Sweet Hour of Prayer by Peter Vantine. His album Prayerful Improvisations seems like excellent background music for a peaceful Sunday afternoon.

Meditation Time bookstanding today: 23 Quality of meditation (out of 10): 4

Practice Minutes on the keyboard today (out of 40): 25 minutes Quality of practice (out of 10): 3 ... again... looking forward to getting better sleep tonight.


Want updates on this and other projects I'm working on? Kindly subscribe to my newsletter.