The Power of Hymns

I remember the first Sunday I went back to church after 15 plus years of being away. It was odd to hear people address each other as brother and sister, usually followed by their last name. What was even more odd to me was the hymns. The congregation sang to the accompaniment of a Hammond organ played by a frail old woman in high heels. There were no string instruments, horns or even a choir that clapped and swayed.

It seemed minimalist, but not in a good way. At the time I thought it sounded so... uncool.

I chuckle when I think back at that time. I was judging the music by worldly standards. In contrast, God listens to our hearts and how earnestly we sing the words. There’s great power in these sacred hymns, and the Lord revealed:

For my soul delighteth in the song of the heart; yea, the song of the righteous is a prayer unto me, and it shall be answered with a blessing upon their heads.
(D&C 25:12).

So hymns are important to me, more so than any other kind of music. They are essential to my faith and part of my daily life. I love to see new hybrids of hymn like those discussed yesterday, and want to contribute creatively to this genre.

Along that line, I have an idea but will sleep on it first. You’ll probably hear about it tomorrow.

Meditation Time meditating today: 0 Quality of meditation (out of 10): 0

Practice Minutes on the keyboard today (out of 40): 10 minutes Quality of practice (out of 10): 3


You can follow this blog via twitter or by RSS in your favorite RSS feed reader. I also send out the occassional newsletter.