Strategy and Practice

Work got the best of me today. I feel chewed up and spit out like a piece of Bubblicious. I wish I had more time, more energy, to read, theorize, strategize how to innovate my personal practice.

Composers like George Russell and John Cage were “big picture” visionaries and strategists (Miles Davis to a lesser degree). Instead of working within existing frameworks they created their own. I admire these conceptual artists most, but also have deep admiration for Bill Evans (his contribution to music should be obvious to everyone reading this blog) and there are others.

I practiced So What several times tonight, gluing together the various parts and smoothing it over. I've already learned the piano-and-bass introduction and the So What chord, now I'm ready to take on more.

The process reminds me of the guy who ate a Cessna 150 airplane, but I digest.

Time bookstanding today: 35 minutes Quality of meditation (out of 10): 5


You can follow this blog via twitter or by RSS in your favorite RSS feed reader. I also send out the occassional newsletter.