The Three Arrangements

Continuing my musical experiment called Dhymn, today I practiced a simple arrangement of A Mighty Fortress Is Our God by Martin Luther. Actually, I practiced several versions before finally settling on one.

The first arrangement was too simple, even for my limited playing abilities. It was a scaffold melody and only for the right hand. The fact it had no chords left me cold.

Then I tried an arrangement almost identical to the hymn book. That one is too hot to handle for my untrained left hand.

But I think I found an easy one that's just right for my skill level. I practiced that one for about an hour, making total practice time for today at about an hour and a half.

During practice there have been moments of despair mixed with a sense of accomplishment. I'm making progress on the song, but it sounds clumsy and rough. I'm not cut out to be a piano player, this I know for sure, but there are many kinds of composers I tell myself.

I'm going to remain focused and positive and learn this song. Then I'll see what kind of djenty embellishments I can add.

Meditation Time bookstanding today: 40 Quality of meditation (out of 10): 5

Practice Minutes on the keyboard today (out of 40): 40 minutes (although it's closer to an hour and a half, 40 minutes is the maximum I allowed) Quality of practice (out of 10): 10


You can follow this blog via twitter or by RSS in your favorite RSS feed reader. I also send out the occassional newsletter.