How you shouldn't treat your shortcomings

Everyone has tasks they must do, but rather not do. Normally we get around this by telling ourselves what we ought to do, or what kind of person we ought to be. This mindset can definitely get results, as with many problems, there are multiple solutions. But we know that some solutions are better than others. I'm not a fan of tyrannizing myself into doing things I know I should be doing. I don't think it's sustainable to continually beat yourself up over every shortcoming or failure. For instance, when I was a waiter I would come into work and try to be as efficient as possible with everything I did. As a waiter my job was not limited to the tables, there's a lot of work to be done behind the scenes and in-between orders. I would take advantage of any downtime to get a head start on tasks that would normally be started much later in the shift. My coworkers quickly noticed this and appreciated it immensely. However, my boss didn't share their outlook and instead decided to focus on any other small weakness I manifested. Specifically my RBF(Resting Bitch Face), even though I would work my hardest each shift it didn't matter because I wasn't smiling. And so I was constantly hounded for this minor slip-up of not showing my gleaming pearly whites while making my rounds. Eventually this destroyed my motivation to show up and try my best at work because I realized my efforts were never recognized and my mistakes shined bright. After a couple months of this petty tyranny, I quit.

The key point in this store is in considering the alternative way it could have gone. Instead of taking for granted all the extra work I was putting in, my boss could have rewarded this behavior to reinforce it and keep me motivated to improve. This way she could have had her cake and ate it too. I would be happy to practice improving my RBF, while still doing all the extra work on the side. Why? because It would be clear to me that my efforts were appreciated. And I could see my shortcomings in a different light. Instead of seeing all the things I'm not so great at as an endless laundry list of tedious tasks, I would see them as endless potential to meet.

Tons of people treat themselves like my boss did to me. They're a terrible boss and a worse employee. Why? Because they magnify every shortcoming and never acknowledge their successes. Who would want to wake up and everyday and work under that kind of “leadership”. No one. So, the next time you're about to lambaste on yourself for forgetting to do something, or missing a workout, or not hitting your protein goal for the day. Take a moment and consider everything you've accomplished and use that as a buffer against the negativity.