The Daily Basics

Fourth of July just passed and it's definitely summer now, if it wasn't already. Rightfully so, I've had a few clients notify me they will be taking the week off to celebrate or just unwind. This is great and I highly recommend it as there are many benefits to taking time for yourself and it may even aid fitness More Info Here.

However, this post really isn't about the benefits of taking time off per se. Rather, I want to share a few stretches that can accompany you during your time off (well really anytime). These can be done daily and at a minimum three times a week. These stretches will help maintain or expand your mobility to ensure that you retain a supple, injury-resistant body.

Without further ado:

  1. The Couch Stretch Couch As per our modern environment and even more so now in these unprecedented time, we are constantly sitting in chairs. And although I should be prompted to preach to you the benefits of frequent walks, spending less time indoors, and switching to a standing desk, I know it just isn't practical for most of us. Instead i recommend you spend 5-10 mins everyday undoing the damage sitting is doing to your hips and lower back. And that solution, my friends, is the couch stretch. What I like to do when spending extended time at the computer is take a pillow and place it on the ground in front my computer chair, put my knee on the pillow and my foot on the seat and sit there switching back and forth between each side every two minutes or so. more info

  2. Pancake Pancake The Pancake stretch is another great hip opener which targets the inner thighs. Getting familiar with the pancake stretch can help relieve back pain caused by tight hips, it aids with hip flexion, and can reduce the chance of groin pulls. I usually knock out this stretch right before bed or when I'm reading articles on my phone. I'll sit on the ground, arch my back so that I don't bend at the lower back, and tilt forward at the pelvis. I recommend spending 5-10mins in this stretch, you can break it up or do it all at once, but just make sure not to push it too hard. more info

  3. Back Bridge Bridge Many of us will remember this stretch from grade school or gymnastics. This stretch opens up the entire chest, shoulders, and thoracic (upper) spine, as well as the hips! However, this stretch does require some baseline flexibility and strength in the shoulders. If you are having trouble getting into the proper position: arms extended, head off the ground, lower back arched (not hyperextended), then try the half bridge instead. a word of warning If you are new to this stretch and you find yourself fatiguing quickly, please TUCK YOUR CHIN if you feel like you're about to fall. This will protect your head from an awkward fall, and you're doing this in front of others, it will protect you from the embarrassment I received :D

I recommend 30 second holds for 3 sets.