Eons, cont.

[...]

All I heard was, “He's waking up,” translated into countless languages, jumbled but still clear. In English, a woman who sounded quite ordinary spoke. “He's waking up,” repeated clearly, with an undertone of great pain but not fear. Fear does not remain.

As a mathematician, I have lived a calculated and measured life, and if what I wrote so far seemed separated from reality, what follows is what puts that supposed reality in its place. Now I am offering another reality, which I have experienced.

The first thing that came to my mind was that he would come in my dream, and I didn't want to fall asleep. He certainly didn't come, but he didn't have to. I took to reading my old notebooks, my source of nostalgia and comfort until that day. I looked for my name on the first page but saw one of his. A sword sign was in the center, and the symbols around it were symmetrically mirrored. They formed a circle, and the sword cut it in half. Somewhere I saw 'man,' clearly written.

I turned the page and saw myself, and next to me was a dark figure of a beast that stood fearfully. It bent its head down, but suddenly focused on me. It soon sat up and produced a scratching sound that was too loud. I threw the notebook away, and the sound moved to the street below my window.

I covered my ears with my fists on the floor, and before I could feel solace, my previously locked door opened. I heard footsteps but didn't see anyone. As the footsteps reached me, suddenly the commotion stopped.

I believe there is something that protects us from the danger that exists. I hope that something will not forget us. I can't talk about the other events, and there's nothing important to say.

He's coming anyway. Everything before him is a joke.