#2 – de-google experience #1

Today was a rainy day and during my ride back I ended up again on the de-googling editor. I'm already since 2 years slowly trying to get off the big kraken ship aka Google.

Certain things I learned so far

#1 get a good alternative for your email, best an own domain which makes you later flexible to move within services like protonmail, tutanota or others

#2 start small, see what is your comfortable pace. It's not that you will be invisible anyway... Im busy already for 2 years and I'm far from finished

#3 if you move Gmail, create forwards and give them labels within the new interface – it will help you to get your services from one email to another

#4 backups – if you use gdrive, photos – this is a not easy one. A Nas, raspberry with SSD or encrypted are possible choices. I have to admit I'm struggling with this one – tending towards a Synology with 4+tb

#5 pihole – maybe not fully helpful but to understand how much you are actually getting in the rabbit hole I installed in my raspberry pihole to see also my WiFi communication. I'm surprised that almost 25 percent going to ads, telemetry and other non essential stuff.

#7 – android – this is a fully open one. I did not look into fdroid or anything but I d know they exist

#8 – vanced. I'm just allergic to soo much ads in YouTube and it's part of gempire.

Those are potentially my learnings so far.

I would like to get to Ubuntu the next year's (I have double boot anyway) as I'm not really big fan of windows and I'm too cheap for Mac. Beside this I'll continue my journey for my 2 Gmail accounts moving to my protonmail with a NAS as backup solution.

That's it for today