#5 – Brexit and buying books

Its Tuesday and time to look for the weekend :) No worries this one will be less factual than the one before. Currently I'm working within customs industry for a SaaS company and especially the whole Brexit caused a lot of major issues on this side and also on the other side of the pond.

To give you a real life use case – i try to get into wood works as we bought a new house and ill need to do some repairs myself and honestly as office clerk its great to do something with my hands. I did discover Paul Sellers few months ago and this guy is great to explain how you can do with few tools great things. Its not only great to do it myself but also watch his no nonsense videos where he just want to share knowledge and he has more than enough of it for one life.

But to come back to Brexit – i did order a book about basic wood working tools from Paul Sellers, the company is in UK – which means the import duties are due. I did receive a letter from the post office asking for 29€ additionally to my order for 40€ – which makes the book cost 69€ euro, which is ridiculously high. If I see how we create shipments and declarations in the company, how much administration is behind – its crazy and huge los for GB. The price for freedom is always high.

The price of the book itself is ok for me, its worth for me as I do like spend money on books but to see this as an UK business – its not really worth to import them goods but also customers would certainly hesitate to order things if they just double the price. In anyway ill avoid to buy anything from UK as this is really expensive until this got settled and a potential agreement with EU was made.