#6 Sailing

Actually i wanted to write about solitude yesterday but i did forgot, ill come back to this topic somewhere the next chapters, as its an important one in our more and more (dis)connected world.

I just finished the book from Richard Bode “First you have to row a little boat” its about life lessons which he could associate with sailing like there is no straight way to life goals and more a zig zag course or that you have to let your kids do their own experiences and not put your learning on them, they have to do their own mistakes. Somehow i started already reading this book with the background as it was recommended if you want to start with sailing... i have to admit I first like to get a bit theory before jumping in the field.

My sailing experience is limited to a half day sailing with a skipper which I got from my friends for my birthday few years ago. It was awesome, i really did enjoy the peace and also the atmosphere. Somehow magic, maybe its the connection to my childhood to be born and raised in a harbor city. I'm happy with a 16 years break to live in the hilly area in Germany to be back to the sea side. Its still few kilometers but its reachable within one hour.

As with kids its kind of difficult to start such hobby or even buy a boat, but ill see it a big project where my boys maybe will also enjoy it, I will not force them though. Neither way we have a sailing pond almost next to our future house, so i hope ill be able to start practicing there.

My dream would be first to get to England by boat, best go further to Ireland – as I read its beautiful route and if ambitious enough to do a ride over the big pond – but those are far ideas, which might come true. We will see