#8 – Goals

Everyone has goals – some are more determined towards those and others do like to go with the flow. I'm kind of thinking about this since I moved to Germany as my start was not the best one – in terms of material safety and the country I was born – but soon enough i was moving to Germany where everything was so different – i had difficulties but it seemed that i spoke very good German to get to Gymnasium as they called it. Just for the record, I would not want to miss in the world my time in Ukraine – as it gave me those valuable assets which were hidden for long time.

In school I did not had yet goals but i was surrounded by very extra ordinary people – 15 years later I can certainly say that some of those guys and girls become doctors or C-Level executives before reaching 35 – which is impressive.

I did fail the final exam or Abitur – i had to repeat a year, which in the end did question my determination, what do i want in life? I would say back than I was more guided by naivety and curiosity. I got the best out of the second round, but i felt bad – as was did not meet expectations and i did not understand a lot of things, especially those things, which society expects you to behave – what will people think? I never really gave a fuck about it, but i had to learn how to play by those rules but not to obey to them.

My next big pitfall was in 2012 when i failed my final exam macro economics, a subject which is quite theoretical but interesting – it seems I was not made for it. But before this I had 4 times re-exam of higher mathematics, i did really fight hard – as usually you can do it only 3 times but with a crazy story and great writer as best friend I could lure out one more. But it supposed not to be – I remember this day, it was actually August 2012 somewhere and I was walking down in Leipzig and called my brother, to let him know. For me the world collapsed, how could I not stay at university?

I was defeated, for around a day – than I started to realized all the way I did so far and how less i was talented but determined to get somewhere. I had a plan B already back than as Math was always a damocles sword above me – i did switch to University of applied sciences – more practical and way easier. It was a way to stil get my B.A. in Business Administration. I did my Bachelor in less than 1,5 year, basically 3 semesters incl. Bachelor Thesis and half year Internship. It was not easy but i was determined and I enjoyed the game – i did want to prove anyone but myself that i can do it – and I DID IT!

I learned a lot about myself and also about my environment, i had and have great friends – even we do not see each other that often and I miss them a lot – but they were part of my journey back than, they did support me and I'm loyal to that day. A lot of people who i met and who stayed for a while in my life always said that i should stay as i'm – and I start to understand now what it means and which big assets I have – as loyalty, patience and listening but also the great gift of making people not only laugh but feeling understood. This is something which i never would think back in the days as unique skills as everyone tried to scream louder to get attention.

I also fulfilled my goal to go abroad and since 2016 i'm living in Belgium. I did want to have a family and i have great girlfriend (by law wife) and two wonderful little boys. I do appreciate life everyday – its not easy. I also see more clear now what it means to have family and to keep them close.

Maybe sounds all a bit to bla bla soft shizzle? Its part of me and especially those voices in my head started working together, so that is an important part of my development, that process that will continue until I die.

I have ambitions but they are different compared what society expects and Goals which might be not goals in terms of goal setting, because i did achieved what i wanted – and I have enough. I want to get a small house somewhere in Ukraine and a Boat to sail.

What i did learn is that my main driver is to help people, be understood and also curiosity, as this makes the world so much more worth to explore – there is so much to learn out there!

But first a Goal – 100 posts in a year :)

T