Thoughts on migration

CW: US Politics

It probably comes as no surprise that I think all borders, and their corresponding nations, should be abolished. I don't expect everyone to agree with me, but I will kick and scream for a bare minimum of humanity in my social circles. I know the complete abolishment of the state won't come tomorrow and arguing that would probably be bad small talk, but treating asylum seekers with respect in accordance with the Geneva Convention seems more reasonable.

I don't know in today's America maybe we shouldn't expect that from the MAGA wearing cap crowd, but surely from our progressive and liberal communities, right? Right?

It's been eye opening for me in more ways than one recently to participate in a fundraiser through my work for the group Pueblo Sin Fronteras, a group of aid workers working along side the caravan of asylum seekers coming up from Honduras. In practice this means that at my service industry work when cashiering I need to advocate for the cause to a mostly liberal affluent white crowd.

I could write a whole essay on how disappointing it's been to see people in AK Press hoodies turn down rounding up the two cents of their purchase for asylum seekers, but I'm not even talking about that here. I'm talking about those white “leftists” who walk in our communities who feel so strongly against migration that they feel the need to go on long racist diatribes, because of how offended they are that we would support such a cause. This happens nearly everyday at a community owned democratically managed food co-op in Portland, OR.

This has made me consider a lot of things:

That last one has been hitting me hard. My life is a shit show, and finding a balance has been a huge struggle for me. Still I know I need to do more in this area. I know I need to make myself less comfortable and more willing to engage those around me. I need to speak up. I need to be less comfortable. The cafe is on fire, and this is not fine.