Project Backlog

After spending two years raiding and collecting legendaries in MMOs, I found myself horribly burned out. As fun as they are, they do get samey after a while. Progressing on raids to loot gear to progress on the next raid tier. Farming the same map over and over for gold to buy mats for the next legendary, because you can never have enough.

(I'm talking about World of Warcraft and Guild Wars 2, by the way.)

So there I was in the middle of 2018, playing the first single-player I've launched in a long time, The Sims Medieval. I was getting bored of GW2 and decided to make my own version of Tyria. I had tons of fun and... I just never logged back on GW2.

After sinking about 60 hours into Sims Medieval, I was looking for something new to play when I realized that I had a massive backlog of games I was ignoring while playing MMOs. Some of them I even bought while playing said MMOs, played for half an hour, and never touched again.

I decided to make it my project to go through my backlog for the next year. This was back in July. I don't have any hard info because I didn't think to keep track when I started out, so the following dates and numbers would be my educated guesses.

Estimated Start Date and Games

The first game I played was Stardew Valley and I earned my first achievement on July 18, 2016. So I'm pinning that as my estimated start date.

According to my Steam Backlog profile right now, I have 55 games in my backlog. I marked 11 games as completed (that is, I played through to the end of the main story with an achievement percentage I was happy with) since I started in July. Adding that together, I began my journey with 66 total games in my backlog. Yikes!

How did that I end up with that number? Years of Steam sales and hype FOMO. Never again!

Games Completed

Here are the games I've marked as complete since then. Some of these titles I've played before, but replayed for old time's sake, or merely replayed parts of for achievements. I don't go out of my way to 100% every game I own, but I do have fun hunting for achievements. I tend to skip the ones that I find too tedious or time-consuming (like Triple Crown Solo in Pillars of Eternity).

For the record, I'm currently playing Pillars of Eternity II: Deadfire. Quick thoughts: bounty hunting is mega fun, and I want so bad for Aloth to love me.

Upcoming Games

Here are some games coming up on my queue:

Since the three-month mark of my project has passed, I'll mark this post down as my report for that. I plan on coming back for my 6-month, 9-month, and 1-year report. Hope I don't lose momentum by then. Wish me luck!

Something on your mind?

You can send me a mention about this post to @raiscake@elekk.xyz.