The Great Gorkhali Race

Phases of a trip to the motherland ( Nepal) : Anxiety and uncertainty Packing dread /panic mode Excitement The never ending flight Jet lag #1 Reunion at last! The part where you eat excessively and Jam packed dinners and visits Shopping/Preparing to smuggle (j/k) all the goodies Time to go -sadness Doubts about leaving Jet lag #2 Wistful/loneliness Ravishing all the goodies Can’t wait to return

I have to say that I can be a procrastinator. I’ve gotten better over the years as I have realized that procrastination only amplifies my stress levels. We returned from our long awaited trip to our motherland about a week ago and dove right back into the mayhem of work and life. I admit that I purposely delayed the unpacking. Unpacking means that the trip is over. It implies finality. As I unpacked today, my mouth watered at all the sweet and savory goodies packed for us by Ma ( mother-in-law) and mom. I set aside all the presents and tokens of remembrance from our loved ones .I upacked our clothes which were still scented with the laundry detergent from home that lingered. It was poignantly nostalgic. Tears welled in my eyes and my heart swelled. This was an extremely memorable trip and thank God it was as smooth as itcould have possibly gone, esp when involving travel halfway around the world. We left with full hearts and amazing memories to last a lifetime. The main purpose of our trip was for the kids to see and esp our daughter to meet her great grandmothers. I only wish that they could’ve had the privilege to meet my courageous Muwa and our sensational one and only Chabail daddy.

The highlights of the trip were the daily multiple meet and greets with our beloved Dhan dijju ( or “fun” dijju according to little S) . Seeing her frail face light up in anticipation of seeing the kids who then would spontaneously hug and kiss her (Every. Single. Time.) was priceless. She would hand them treats and ramble on in her characteristic adorable fashion. Unfortunately the young and old didn’t understand each other much but love crosses all divides- languages barriers as well. This was plain to see.

The grandparents made themselves selflessly available at the beck and call of their grandkids. They purposely took time out of their busy lives to spend daily quality time with the kids and painstakingly drew up itineraries for outings that we would enjoy. They created menus of our culinary favorites and toiled in the kitchen even when there was little help. They indulged in our every whim. Now, I don’t know how much of the facts , the breathtaking ancient architecture or the rich history of the country was appreciated by the kids but I know it touched their hearts and will be ingrained in their memories even subconsciously.

I am guilty to admit that I almost didn’t make this trip. I was too tired and burnt out and we had had some hectic recent trips, Covid/the flu and usual life stressors, yada yada -all the excuses . I didn’t have enough remaining time left from work and had to be resourceful to be able to go. My parents pampered me while I attended virtual conferences. The grandparents took care of the kids and entertained them.

I miss the majestic mountains, the long scenic drives with the chatter, the awe and intermittent shock (traffic,motorcycles,cows,dogs,etc) in the kids’ eyes. I miss the rounds of Chiya/tea with the accompanying delightful banter, the scrumptious food but mostly the people who made it possible. We left there with nothing lacking or wanting. We will miss the family dinners and gatherings and the invitations pouring in alongside the phone calls from family and friends that we weren’t able to meet.Oh and dare I forget that heavenly first cup of morning tea…honestly, nothing here comes close!If you paid attention, I mentioned tea twice!

The intermittent pangs of loneliness still hit. I know it’s gonna take a few more weeks at least . It’s funny how we get so engrossed in the hustle bustle of daily life and become accustomed to living so far away from those we love the most. We get caught up in the mundane and the rat race. These trips back home definitely have a way of grounding you, reconnecting you to your roots . You remember how loved and supported you are. That you’re actually not alone-ever. On the other hand, you can’t help that shred of doubt creeping in each time it is time to leave…wondering and hoping that you made the right decision. Each to his own of course and that is a discussion in itself.

We are blessed to have the life that we have created for ourselves and our children which we continue to build on . But we are insurmountably blessed because we have a home oceans and continents away that is part of our truth, our heritage and identity. And although we are rarely physically there, we carry the essence of those mountains and the land in our hearts and souls. Until we meet again next time…we promise we won’t let too much time pass now.