Caring For My Body

I've been making my body a priority.

I was hesitant to share this during the week I'm talking about my postpartum body and dealing with trying to love it but then I realized that was dumb. I'm not telling anyone how they have to take care of their bodies and I'm not shaming anyone for not doing things the way I am. Sometimes I think I'm afraid to share things because I'm worried that simply mentioning something could trigger someone. I'm all about being sensitive and loving but I also don't want to hold back from being able to help someone who is actively looking for help.

That being said, if talking about exercise and ways of nourishing your body through food triggers you, by all means- skip this post.

I knew going into my postpartum period that I was probably going to struggle with my body image. When I was really getting healthy and getting my body back into shape (physically, emotionally & mentally) in the beginning of 2020, I was struggling, so I knew going into this new season was probably going to be a challenge. I was absolutely correct.

I've heard some women talk about their new appreciation for what their body has done but honestly, I never felt that. I knew I should but I just couldn't. All I could think about was how uncomfortable I felt. I was surrounded by messages of accept yourself where you're at but that didn't feel right to me. It wasn't until a few weeks in when I was researching various postpartum workouts I could do to start gaining strength that I was desperately craving that I realized that if I didn't want to accept where I was at and I wanted to change it, that was totally my prerogative. Although the accept yourself message feels nice, it doesn't mean that it's for everyone.

Hear me out, something I've learned recently is that accepting yourself and loving yourself are two very different things. I can fully love who I am, love who God created me to be and want to change the way I feel and look. Those two things can co-exist- despite how anyone else feels about it or the overall body positivity movement that would tell me that those two things are one and the same when really, they're not.

You have to find what healthy is for you.

For me that means that I have strength, that I'm eliminating unnecessary body fat and that I am achieving that through moving which improves my mental health and through fueling my body through food and supplements in a way that supports every part of me. In my life, I cannot be a good mom, wife, daughter, friend, sister, or aunt if my brain isn't working. If I can't function I can't show up for myself, let alone anyone else. I know that in my life functioning means that my brain is on and firing, that I'm able to keep up physically with those around me and that I can make it to the end of my day. I don't like feeling exhausted after going up a flight of steps. I don't like feeling like I've run a marathon after walking around the grocery store, packing it all up & putting it all away. Those aren't things that should physically exhaust a 21 year old. So when I'm feeling that way, I know it means that I need to make a shift to how I'm eating and moving.

Now I'm not going to tell you what to do because every body is so different but I will tell you a few things that worked for me, especially as a new mom because eating for your body & moving with a new baby is HARD.

Tip #1 – Start when you're ready.

For me I was ready at 6 weeks exactly. That's not the case for everyone. Some may be able to start sooner and some later. But around the 6 week mark I was itching to move my body and eat healthier. I felt like crap and knew I had to make a change to be able to keep up with Hayden.

Tip #2 – Listen to your body.

Your body will tell you everything you need to know. On days you are exhausted and the thought of working out is a no-go- try gentle movement like stretching to get the blood flowing and to help your body regenerate. If you're feeling like you have a ton of energy, do your “harder” workout that day. Start tuning in to what your body is craving and how you feel after you eat. Personally I know that when I eat sugar or things that break down quickly into sugar (simple carbs) I get horrible headaches and feel awful. When I eat complex carbs, protein & things with a lot of fiber like raw fruits & veggies I feel 10x better and have much more energy and brain clarity. This doesn't mean that I only eat those things, but I tune in and listen to how I'm feeling to better support my body and what it needs. I wouldn't say I'm on a diet because for some people those can be problematic and harmful, rather I'm committing myself to a way of eating. Occasionally I'll have the cookie when I feel like it, but after I eat it, if I feel like crap, which I usually do, I'll go for the fruit next time I'm craving something sweet. It doesn't have to be about feeling guilty for eating something, instead, knowing what is going to make you feel your best and making choices to best achieve that and dealing with the natural consequences when you choose differently. It's and ebb and flow of learning.

Tip #3 – Find workouts that you enjoy.

At first, I felt like a bowl full of jello every time I moved. Instead of doing cardio or anything high intensity, I started with postpartum friendly YouTube videos. Videos made specifically for women trying to regain their core, arm & pelvic floor strength. Doing these exercises 3-5 days a week, for 10-15 minutes a day helped me immensely. Slowly I increased that time until I was doing things that were a bit harder for longer periods of time. Now I'm 3 months postpartum and I'm able to do 20-40 minute workouts 5 days a week and my strength is insane to what I thought it could be. The key is to listen to your body and take baby steps. When I'm not feeling well or I'm on my period, I take it easy & go back to that gentle stretching or some days I take a break. The key is getting back to it as soon as I feel up to it.

Tip #4 – Get strategic.

I know how hard it is to make taking care of yourself a priority when you have a newborn, but you have to do it. You cannot pour from an empty cup. So that means you have to get strategic. You can watch my video about my morning routine to see how I do that but here's the spark notes. Key is: you can put your baby down. It's okay if they fuss for a second and it's okay for them to nap in a place that isn't your arms. If that doesn't work for you, wait until your partner gets home or get up before your baby does and get it done. I'll talk about meals in a second, but getting strategic with that means meal prepping & having easy to grab foods available. (I started this when he was 6 weeks old) As soon as I get up in the morning I make my breakfast while Hayden hangs out in his bouncer and I get my supplements and water filled. Then I feed him and eat and play with him then it's time for his nap. I rock him to sleep, put him down in his crib with his white noise and turn the monitor on in the living room. I know I have about 30-60 minutes to get my workout done so I pick my workout (I am doing the Lo Rox program right now) on my TV and I get it done right then. I hop in the shower and by the time I'm done Hayden is up. I grab a snack and as soon as Dustin is home from work we eat lunch and then dinner later. That being said, let's talk about food.

If you'd like to download my free recipe guide with some of my favorite recipes I've experimented with, you can grab that here.

Tip #5 – Have it ready!

If I didn't have easy to grab foods, I'd be screwed. With Hayden I have minutes or seconds to grab something before I have to feed him or pump. For breakfast I have my ingredients altogether and I throw 'em in a bowl and have cold oats with fruit every morning. My go-to snacks are larabars, mini luna bars, mini RX bars, almonds, peanuts, cashews, carrot sticks, apples & peanut butter and clementines. These are all things will help give my blood sugar a boost and help me get my calories in for breastfeeding and pumping (I track that in the lose-it app which I love so that I make sure I'm eating enough & you can save recipes for quick adds). I keep snacks in easy to reach places so if I'm stuck with a sleeping, eating or fussy baby I can still eat. As far as main meals go, like I said, I keep all of my breakfast stuff together, but for lunch & dinner I do have the privilege of having Dustin cook both meals for me. When I know he won't be home for lunch I make sure to have pre-cut veggies, lunch meat, and fruit (grapes, clementines) available for a quick grab. Otherwise, make it a priority for you and your partner to meal prep when you can (weekends, evenings) to make lunches & dinners easier.

Tip #6 – Drink your water.

Get a cup with a straw because it makes it so much easier to drink. But get that water in. That is all.

I truly hope that if you're in this same season of life and you're struggling that this helped you a bit. Take it one day at a time and don't beat yourself up. You're doing a hard job and you're doing great at it. You will not always be in such a hard spot and it will get better. It takes time and perseverance and strategy, but you're going to make it happen. If you have any questions or need support, feel free to reach out, I'd be happy to listen and help.

xoxo – Ry