I thought my neighbour's house was flooding. It's a holiday weekend where I am, and their sump pump had been pumping out several gallons of water every few minutes for hours and hours. They're not home as far as I can tell.

I didn't know how to contact them because I don't have their number. I don't really know anyone in this area. I've lived here almost since 1991 (I was in Toronto for eighteen months). When I moved back in 2012, everyone I knew moved away, and it's hard to make friends as a single man with a disability when everyone wants an insulated life. It's the suburbs, after all. Insulation is a right out here.

(I'm as guilty as the rest. Just waiting for the day I can be insulated somewhere with more trees.)

I eventually figured out a guy down the street knows them. He never says hi to me when I walk by his house, but I figured he'd want to let my neighbour know their house somehow found hundreds of gallons of water somewhere.

He went to go check on it last night after I told him. The sump pump is still pumping this morning.