BoardGames.Social stands with #BlackLivesMatter

I have started to write this post at least three times. I kept thinking to myself, that no one needs another white-privileged voice pontificating on how life is currently, and how it should be.

Frankly I find myself, still not sure of what to say or how to say it. I sat down the other day and wrote down some thoughts through my tears. I have a blended family and a as a cis-white-male, I feel horribly un-equipped to give my teenage, mixed daughters a proper up-bringing on issues of black culture and history. We have had discussions and will continue to have an open dialogue on the current state of racism and intolerance, out int the world, and even down to my own heart.

That brings me to this post.

I have been reading and watching, with the rest of the world, these last few weeks and months of civil unrest. Not having appropriate words, trying to take a back seat and not wanting to be a dolt.

Then came the fallout for GAMA / Origins.

Then I read about Everything Board Games.

It has become very clear to me, that I must speak publicly on behalf of the small slice of the #fediverse I am a part of:

Black. Lives. Matter.

LBGTQ. Lives. Matter.

Trans. Lives. Matter.

I am horrified at the blatant racism and I am becoming even more horrified at the systemic racism built into so many structures and institutions.

Fuck racism. Fuck homophobia. Fuck transphobia. Fuck the patriarchy.

Boardgames.social is an instance that will do it's best to create a safe space for all, except those that don't stand for basic human rights.