Start with the work, not the tools

When we start new work, we think we should Step 1: Find the right tools Step 2: Do the work

Whereas we actually should Step 1: Start doing the work Step 2: Improve the tools

When I wanted to start writing some years back, I started researching about whether it made more sense to create a blog or to write on Medium, what should the domain name be, what kind of writing should I do etc. Needless to say, I never got down to putting 100 words together.

Last year all these ideas were building up in my head and I just wanted to let them out so I could stop thinking about them. So I started writing them on paper. Sometimes I didn't have a paper at hand, so I started writing on my notes app. My writing improved, so did my tooling. I still only have a shitty blog that nobody reads but I'm becoming a writer. You can too if you start doing it.