The problem with browsers (one of them)

I'm a designer who grew up with Adobe Photoshop and other tools for photo and video editing. After episodes of losing hours of work when my computer crashed and I had not bothered to save it, pressing Ctrl+S has become a second habit.

If I were to break this down using the classic model of habits, the cue to this habit would be when I authoring something and I take a tiny mental break between two thoughts. That's when this habit of “saving” kicks in. The reward is seeing the “unsaved” status disappear.

Although so many web based tools have come after that which auto-save the work, my fingers just keep returning to those two keys on their own. Some tools provide a little something to remind me that I don't need to save. Some tools just disregard my eccentricities. What really grinds my gears is when browsers think I'm trying to save the web page I'm on. I can't think of many people who actually would want to save html files. Sure, keep your Ctrl+P and Ctrl+C and Ctrl+V, but do not assume I want to download a webpage with a shortcut that's associated with saving state.

That being said, all webapps which allow people to author anything should just disable this if they care about user experience.