What are some good ideas for building products?

Every time someone says, “Make a product for yourself”, I can't stop thinking about all those dead startup ideas where the maker was the only person who ended up using your product. It's not bad advice because this idea may be bad, it's bad advice because this gives the founder a false sense of validation.

I would rather say “Find people who are different from you but are hungry for a solution”. If you don't know them but you are still have an idea, you'll want to talk to them and find out as much as you can. For example, if I was making a product for chefs, I would try to talk to as many chefs as possible. But if I'm a developer and I'm making a product for developers, I would answer all questions with my experience and never bother to get more insights.