10 Streets Market

So, I made a blog post last night – Tear down the wall. ( Go and read that first if you haven't already.) Big tick.

I went running this morning. Also big tick. I reminded myself how running and creating are forever entwined together in a part of my brain.

Then, I took my family somewhere we hadn't been before and introduced a cool new place into our lives. Completing a hat-trick of big ticks for the day and earning the 'feel like I've done something with my weekend' trophy.

We went to 10 Streets Market at Cotton Street in Liverpool. A unique space indeed. Alive and trading for two years, I'm ashamed to say that the opening of this place had completely passed me by.

It's just the kind of hipster location that completely appeals to me. A mixture of flea market – selling vintage clothes, records, furniture and signage – with a book stall, plant shop and cafe. All doused with a healthy helping of contemporary street art.

It also devotes some of its space to independent creators with unique greeting cards, paintings, beer mats, decorations and wall hangings.

It's the perfect place to spend time browsing, enjoying the eclectic mix and juxtaposition of objects that you would never see sitting together in a high-street store.

The cafe area was just lovely – peanut butter brownies, caramel layer cake and Lotus Biscoff lattes are just made for Sunday mornings.

I spoke briefly to the owner and I think she said a workshop space upstairs is coming soon for people to hire out.

I'm wracking my brain wondering what I can do to support this market, beyond spending a bit of money in there. I felt nothing but good vibes while I was there today and would like to spread the word about it. I didn't know about it, maybe others don't too?

I'm instantly wondering if it might work as a meeting space for people in my local area to hang out and help each other get better at blogging?

[thinking face – hand on chin emoji]...

Wow – social distancing blog club – IN PERSON! That would be ace! I'll bear that one in mind...

Curioser and curioser

I'm always fascinated by pre-loved, up-cycled gimcracks and gewgaws (yeah I had to look them up too – glorious words, aren't they?)

I love the idea of rooting around a space full of bric-a-brac and finding something out of place and time that would be perfect in your own home.

I got to thinking – it's a shame that all second-hand items can't come with a potted history of the journey they've been on to get where they are.

For me, the value of an item is not just in how aesthetically pleasing it will look on a shelf in your house, but in its back-story – the explanation of the accumulation of its scars, cracks and fractures.

Why has it worn down the way it has? What's caused that unique pattern/stain to form on its side?

Is that a bullet-hole?

I'm sure most pieces find their way into these markets without incident, leading a fairly standard life. But it's still fun to contemplate what the more unusual stuff might have been used for.

I saw a ton of stuff today that could one day easily end up being a prop in a piece of my creative writing. It's already compelled me to write a blog post...

Right, I'm off to go and throw some of my more boring, run-of-the-mill trinkets and gizmos away to leave some interestingly-shaped gaps around my house. I know a place where I can go to find things to fill them.

I'm desperate to find a suitable spot for a plant pot decorated with a skull and snake pattern. I really wanted it but couldn't visualise where it would go. I'll try and get back for it soon.

You can catch up with the wonderful 10 Streets Market on Twitter @10streetsmarket

Subscribers can see a few bonus pics below of my trip today. If you want to see them too, you can sign up for $5 a month.

Continue reading with a Coil membership.