@BurntEnds88: An interview

So, here’s a full disclosure moment.

There’s a newcomer to the Coil blogging community that I’ve known personally for the longest time.

We’ve been great friends since we met almost a quarter of a century ago.

We have drunk together, celebrated together, and been through sad times together and I’m thrilled that we’re now helping each other get better at blogging together and continuing our journey through a new channel here on Coil.

It’s my good mate, John a.k.a @BurntEnds88! Woop woop!

I thought with us going way back, it would nice to do dual posts where we interview each other, get under the hood of our love of films and talk more about our expectations of where we think XRP, the internet of value, Coil, our blogging and all that kind of stuff is going to go….

So first off, John – the key question of the moment – how are you and the family doing mate?

All good mate to be fair – lockdown has been difficult, but then I bet it has for a lot of people. The kids are a handful, especially when Selena’s at work and I’m left in charge… or are they in charge of me? Lol

You’ve completed your first month on Coil AND Twitter! What are your opinions and insights? How are things going and how do they meet up to your expectations?

I’ve enjoyed it to be honest, but it does take a lot of time to create. There are a few issues I think could be improved upon, but then I think we’re all aware of what some of those are.

Twitter is something I swore I would never do… that didn’t go to plan! It’s like a job at the moment to get work out and to share other people’s terrific content. I think the sharing out aspect is the most rewarding and enjoyable.

For anyone unsure whether to take the plunge, I say go for it – there are so many people willing to help, support and encourage you along the way. Adding another voice into the mix only enhances the community at Coil and will undoubtedly help someone looking for another perspective.

I know your origin story – its not dissimilar to mine – but would you mind telling these good folks how you chanced upon XRP and as an opportunity – what it means to you?

You mentioned those letters on a night out once – X. R. P. I went home and did some research. Couldn’t see past it for any other asset in terms of having a business plan behind it to see it succeed. I presented the idea to Selena – a bit like the evolution of entertainment from physical cassette to digital now. She bought into it. It’s gonna happen. Right?

The original plan was to diversify, but as I investigated, the grouping I created began to diminish until there was only one left. It was a bit like a Royal Rumble. Now we just need it to take on the WWE Champion in a WrestleMania finale – BTC vs XRP.

Who will win out in the end? Or is this one scripted too? Just to digress, I was a huge fan of wrestling growing up – a favourite of mine was The Ultimate Warrior.

https://media.giphy.com/media/SoJOLUTwCj7dS/giphy.gif

I remember being at your wedding, watching you dance with Selena to the beautiful Earth Angel and crossing my fingers that you would follow it up with Jonny B Goode – and then you did!

https://media.giphy.com/media/EgP0iGC6WwO3u/giphy.gif

I can’t think of a better pair of first dance songs at a wedding! But if you HAD to pick an alternative first dance song from a movie soundtrack – what would it be and why?

Can’t Take My Eyes Off of You – from 10 Things I hate About You

In 2012 – you really kindly showed up for me and my then pregnant wife to help us move from our apartment to our new house. What’s your favourite film that involves someone moving house?

Funny Farm with Chevy Chase and Madolyn Smith

https://media.giphy.com/media/3on2145OdwdWxn48Oh/giphy.gif

We’re not the only people around who share a love of films – we’ve had many a head-to-head over the years – like Al Pacino and Robert De Niro in Heat!

But you have a deep love of film analysis – and dissection of the art of film-making. It’s a way of watching films on a whole new level – and I love the critical eye you’re bringing too Coil.

Where did that analytical approach come from and does it ever spoil your viewing? Do you ever wish you didn’t have it?

It’s a curse. Joking! It never spoils the viewing – in fact, it enhances it!

There’s so much to admire about a film on each viewing when applying a critical approach. You learn so much about the world around you because of it. For those who’ve read any of my film archive posts, they'll understand what I mean. I hope!

When I introduce film for the first time to my students, their initial expectations are simply to watch film. They have no idea how much I love the medium, and how important it is in developing critical thinking skills. I do warn them how they’ll never see film in the same way after the first lesson.

And I’m always being told by my students how they find themselves commentating over a film at home with their parents.

https://media.giphy.com/media/1AfLx8dLTVoHK/giphy.gif

What does Coil hold for your future? How do you think your writing is developing and what is the grand plan if XRP (to borrow one of your favourite film titles) Moons?

It’s weird – you write an article and think, ‘is it good enough?’ I guess we’re our own worst critic. I do think mine, and anyone’s writing improves with each post, and just as importantly, it improves through the reading of others.

The thing is, when I do post, I have to at least be sure it’s as good as it can be at the time. If I’m blogging then I’m spending time away from the children or Selena – so that tends to be my barometer: it better be worth posting for the time it takes away from the family.

Grand plan? Two scenarios spring to mind: 1 – Sell if it means Selena can leave her job. 2 – Sell if we’re both able to leave our jobs.

https://media.giphy.com/media/3o6MbqX9pkw2sWfTck/giphy.gif

You’re washed up on a desert island with a working TV and DVD player – you can only save 5 films to watch for all eternity. What are they?

Dude – that’s a tough question!

- Rio Bravo

- The Princess Bride

- Back to the Future

- Batman vs Superman: the Ultimate edition

- Die Hard

https://media.giphy.com/media/l0MYGb1LuZ3n7dRnO/giphy.gif

If you could travel back in time like Marty McFly, which 5 films would you happily erase from existence?

- Titanic (I ban discussion of this film from my classes – they get one lesson to talk all they want and that’s it!)

- Maleficent (not a single redeemable male character in the film – feminism is about equality, not flipping it like it’s some kind of Upside Down)

- Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull (I remember driving to the cinema and saying to my brother at the time, ‘all I want is to FEEL like I’m watching an Indiana Jones film’ – I set my expectations very low and even then they weren’t met. Too many issues to discuss in a post – it’ll turn into an essay)

- The Intern (such a waste of an opportunity – the trailer painted a much different picture than the actual film)

- The Devil Wears Prada (what an unlikable and selfish group of characters – couldn’t gel with them)

https://media.giphy.com/media/ghTXUSPsC8SHXXS3qX/giphy.gif

Thanks for playing, John! This was a lot of fun to do! Sure I'll see you really soon, mate!

https://media.giphy.com/media/Zw3oBUuOlDJ3W/giphy.gif

In fact – John interviewed me right here! So, please go ahead and give that a read! If you're not already following John – he talks about films in a level of detail I can't even describe!

You can find him on Twitter too!

You can support content creators like John and myself by subscribing to Coil for just $5 a month. You can read our content and see us compare our stats, in head-to-head top-trump style in our subscriber only sections!

Continue reading with a Coil membership.