I hope this blog post finds you well

Optimism

I have what is called Young Onset Parkinson’s Disease (YOPD). I don’t know what the cutoff for “young” is, but I was diagnosed when I was 45. Today I attended my first big Parkinson’s event: the Georgia Optimism Walk. (Other diseases get to race for a cure, but people with the Park aren’t very fast and there isn’t much hope for a cure, so we just get to walk for optimism, I guess.) There were a lot more people without the Park than I expected, people in athletic gear who came to walk with vigor, not slowly clomp around like a Frankenstein. And there were a lot of old people. People with canes, with wheelchairs, with those little walkers that you can also use as a chair. The majority of the vendors were for elder care/assisted living/hospice companies. It was a glimpse into my future. And at first it unnerved me.

Since being diagnosed, I’ve struggled with staying positive about my future. I think about my uncle, who had Parkinson’s and who died way too soon. I think about growing old alone and wonder how long I will actually be able to live on my own. I worry. But after attending the walk today, I came away actually feeling motivated about my long-term future for the first time in a long while. It was a big help seeing people, both with and without the Park, being happy and energetic and motivated. It felt good being outside, which made me feel more confident in my summer goal to go camping and to spend more time outdoors. My life will never be what I thought it would be even just a couple of years ago, but I feel better about what it can be. And I found out that if I raise enough money, I can get a medal. I want that medal. I will use all the resources at my disposal. I will make a difference for people with the Park. And I will get that medal.

#Parkinsons #Optimism #BonJoviBridge