Fake Animals

A paper-and-ink journal entry from May 5, 2017.

Key West, Florida

Finally went snorkeling and my dream of just floating around looking at sea creatures has come true. Suspended in the warm ocean, existing where the tide takes me.

They said we couldn't have picked a better day to go out.

Me: Do we have to wear flippers? Snorkel Boat Lady: Shakes head.

(Yes, I know they're called “fins” but the word “flippers” is so much more fun to say.)

No flippers. That's the way to go. Good exercise fighting against the draw of the water. The water silky between my toes.

Glittery light, everything gently swaying together. The fish are rainbows of beauty. You couldn't find better art in a museum.

Man, VR ain't got nothing on this, I think. Today they can put you at the bottom of the ocean, but they can't recreate the sensation of the water, the waves, the sun on your back...

I pause.

Just give 'em time. They're coming for this, too.

A swimming pool. Safety everywhere. Fake animals.

That's what we all want.