My Organizational Tools

Over the past few weeks, I've been working with various organizational tools. I've played with a lot of them over the past couple of years, but I've toned down to my favorites.

Note: I primarily work on iOS and MacOS. These applications may or may not support other platforms

Bear

My first, and favorite tool, is Bear. It's an amazing note taking tool. The biggest feature for me is supporting markdown. The second biggest being able to export into various formats.

This app has proved itself extremely useful. Here’s some of the primary purposes I’ve used it for: – Writing up a blog post and exporting into whatever format I need (HTML or Markdown primarily) – Quickly writing up some release notes and exporting them into PDF format for a client – We use markdown in our repositories for Changelogs and Readmes already, so this is extremely nice – Writing some API documentation, and exporting that to HTML for public facing versions, markdown for repo specific documentation, or PDF for client documentation

Things 3

Things 3 is a very well built and well designed todo list organizer. One thing that I really enjoy about it (see what I did there), is the ability to view my calendar events from within the app. I can also set repeating reminders, like for my take one picture a day goal. You can also organize things into projects and what not. Honestly, these features aren’t unheard of in other applications, but Things 3 is a one time purchase, and provides you with all the features that other applications (such as Todoist) require a subscription for.