How a few good years can make or break your software career

Luck is when preparation meets opportunity.

What percentage of my success can be attributed to meticulously planned hard work, and what remaining portion is through luck?

Sometimes I wonder the same for my peers who've achieved a higher title than me — did they just get the right projects to grow and flex their skills? Or are they just that much better, efficient, contribute larger impact?

On the other side, for those that failed to achieve their promotion goals: did they just have a bad manager who didn't assign them relevant project work, create a fertile learning environment, or shield them when they are at their most vulnerable?

I've had 10 managers in the past 10 years. I could imagine a parallel universe where I've had fewer managers over the same period of time, and accrued enough social capital and good will with leadership to get a least 2 or 3 years ahead of where I am now.

I guess I'll never know; though I'm quite lucky to be where I am despite this.