The Problem with 4:30pm

I really enjoy work.

Like a lot.

More than work, I just like the work day.

My job allows me a lot of freedom and allows me to be independent and work on my own schedule as long as I am getting my work done.

I am able to take longer lunch breaks or run errands or exercise or work from wherever or work on side projects here and there.

So the work day is a huge time of opportunity and excitement and freedom.

Something I feel a guilty about is the end of the work day.

I don't look forward to it.

That is the time that my kids get home and I switch to full dad mode.

Don't get me wrong I really love my kids and I love hanging out with them, but that time becomes more of a waiting and duty mode – waiting until bed time and doing everything to get the kids ready for the next day, get them fed, and get them ready for bed.

After that, Maria and I just chill together and kick up our feet.

So I look forward to waking up and going to work, then I look forward to our evening chill time, then I look forward to work again.

That sucks.

I think one reason why this is the case is that I don't feel I have enough time in the evenings with the kids to do a whole bunch.

We either 1. sit on the couch and watch kids shows, or 2. play in the playroom. Because the kids get home around 4:30, dinner is around 5, Joel goes to sleep at 6, and Lina goes to sleep around 7.

So what all can we do or where all can we go for a tiny 30 minute or less window?

Not to mention it's currently winter and cold, it gets dark early, and we don't really want to be spending money.

I need to think some more about how I can make these evenings with my kids count. How I can make them more enjoyable for THEM? In doing so, I know they will be more enjoyable for me.

The short of it is I'm selfish, lazy and not content.

But at heart I am a creative person and I need to be more creative and thoughtful about these tiny windows of time I have with my kids because before too long, those windows won't exist as they do now.

Those kids won't be as little as they are now.

And I don't want to miss a thing.

#family