The book “The Great Work of Your Life” is starting to have a surprisingly positive effect on me. It took a little bit to warm up, like many a novel I never finished. But some of its most salient points, like the importance of deliberate practice, and the concept of detachment from outcome, align well with my own values and speak to me in a way that I want to take action.

The most immediate way I can apply this to my life is through LSAT study. Since I've started studying, I've noticed myself becoming happier and more focused. I have a goal to work towards, with clear output and clear feedback via the test scores I get. I find the test intellectually rewarding, as crazy as it sounds, and find that I can focus on it for hours without distraction. In fact, I get frustrated by the other parts of my life, such as my job and errands, that I need to do that pull me away from studying.

I think if I maintain this attitude of deliberate practice, focus, concentration, and a letting go of outcomes, I will be able to knock this test out of the park. I have two full months left of study, and plan to use them wisely.

Yesterday I took my first practice test since beginning studying, and scored a 172. I was quite happy with this result, and it also revealed to me that my biggest weakness right now is in the Games section. This is actually encouraging because it is a very learnable section, and when I took the test last, I was able to get all the answers correct. So, I think with more practice I can get this score up.