Tomorrow I turn 33

Tomorrow I turn 33, and I can't really believe it. It was the age, as a kid, that I imagined was the unequivocal adult; not quite old but certainly not young.

So what are some of the things I've learned in these 32 years? These are some of the big ones. And I won't pretend they'll all apply to you, but they are true for me and they might help you. So:

  1. Your energy and your attention are the most valuable resources you have, and you should invest in improving them, and protect them at all costs.

  2. You can opt out of the standard narrative (9-5 job, house, marriage, kids, and lots of stuff) and still be happy. Maybe even happier.

  3. Alcohol isn't just overrated, it is downright toxic.

  4. Meditation is an excellent habit to make part of your every day life.

  5. Nothing means anything without your health.

  6. Living alone is wonderful.

  7. Owning a dog is HARD, but worth it.

  8. “It is the time you have wasted for your rose that makes your rose so important.”

  9. I genuinely believe the bicycle is on the best inventions of humankind and it is the single most enjoyable activity I do.

  10. Relatedly, exercise every day, you won't regret it.