These are a few of my favorite things.

My introduction into smoking “weed” was freshmen year of high school. My re-introduction was last year – HOLLA! Having real cannabis at my disposal has given “weed” a whole new meaning. That shit sucked. Honestly, not surprising that most of us disliked our initial experiences (me, circa late 1990’s). It was disgusting, and most likely sprayed with chemicals that made everyone paranoid….or, lazy…or, stupid. I once ate far too many Twinkies from bad ditch weed (I know, it made me gag just thinking about it).

Modern rec use is soooo cool. Dispensaries are full of the most fascinating people. Like, the 80-year-old woman who was purchasing medical grade the other day. She had some legit questions regarding vape pens, waxes, and resins. This woman is my idol. Aside from customers – people who work at dispensaries are really, really cool. And, really, really smart. One of my favorite bud tenders is also a fellow science nerd (proof that smart people can and do use cannabis – daily).

As such, I am an indica fan. Sativa – sure, fun. Just don’t expect to see me at my best. Whereas indica is my chill/focus, sativa is my lack of inhibition. If you’re at all curious, sativa is often the strain most used in cannabis products indicated for arousal. Wait, talk cannabis and sex? No shit, Sherlock. If you don’t know the two have been well correlated (and studied), allow me to enlighten you.

To begin…

Foria has UH-Mazing products! They can be used with a partner, or solo – a’hem. Single, or partnered – you’ll thank me later. The website boasts products for just about everything/anything related to sex. They also have a line of products intended for pain relief: https://www.foriawellness.com/ Admittedly, I haven’t used their relief products. Judging by the quality of their arousal products, I’d assume the line is consistent. They sell small, “starter” packs. My unsolicited advice – if you have a substantial sex drive, just buy the full size products. Yes, I do happen to know from experience – thankyouverymuch.

Still curious? Check out 1906’s line of edibles. Personally, I love Midnight and Genius (low dose THC, with a decent THC:CBD ratio). One worth noting: Love. It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to digest the reviews – it works. https://1906newhighs.com/products/love/

Last, but not least – wax/vape/resin. If I lost you, welcome to my world as a former, new(ish) consumer. Here’s my takeaway: this is not the shit weed we smoked in high school. The edibles/wax/vape/resin/topicals work quite well. So, it takes a bit of curiosity, open-mindedness, and common sense to navigate these things. Yes, a topical can give you a slight body buzz – transdermal applications are nothing new (Fentanyl, ‘nuff said). Edibles – probably not the wisest idea to eat 100 mgs of THC (at first). Start with 2.5, 5, 10 – you follow. Vape pens are pretty straight forward – most of the disposables are pre-dosed. Depending on your tolerance/preference, it only takes a few hits. Personally, I happen to LUV Rythm’s disposable line (Cherry Alien OG x Orange Herijuana). Again, the reviews are pretty solid. https://www.iheartjane.com/products/106245/rythm-orange-herijuana-300mg

Finally, the epic-ness of wax and resins. Back to dispensaries – if you happen to see something that looks a like a small, glass bong – it’s a rig. This is my newest obsession – dabs. As the reviews can be mixed, I’ll add my two ‘cents. As I stated, above – start low. If you want to try wax/live resin – go for it. I promise, it’s not that intimidating. As for rigs, they can be elaborate (not to mention fun, AF) https://www.dopeboo.com/products/famous-brandz-snoop-spaceship-water-pipe

If you’re feeling adventurous, Verano’s line of live sugar resins kinda rules (G-Purps – you’re welcome). https://www.leafly.com/dispensary-info/the-dispensary-fulton/p/254694182/verano---g-purps-bho-live-sugar-1g

What have I experienced from sugar resins and waxes? A high that is so pure, you can barely tell. I know that sounds wrong, so hear me out. The crap buzz you get from shitty marijuana isn’t the way it’s supposed to work. You’re supposed to feel like you – Version 2.0. I have yet to experience a high from this stuff that I don’t like – but, I’m cautious by nature. Repeat after me, start low, go slow. It really is true.

So, here’s my responsible “mom” moment: all of these things are great. I can’t imagine my life without. However, you need to balance the inner stoner mom (or, dad) in you. Passing out midday and missing school pick up – not so much. While being stoned is fun, we have some added responsibilities (I know…right). So, be the responsible stoner parent. Not the one who’s getting pulled over with three kids in tow. For the love of all things holy – please do not give stoners a bad rap. We finally got us some R-E-S-P-E-C-T – do not be the one to tarnish that.

Keep it classy.


~SM