about.

❝ The Sun will rise and set regardless. What we choose to do with the light while it's here is up to us. Journey wisely. ❞ – Alexandra Elle

Perhaps the simplest way to begin this is to state my name. My name is Veronica. I'm half-Filipino, half-Saudi Arabian. I was born in Manila, Philippines and moved here to the US when I was six. I'm a future Nursing student hoping to eventually become a Pediatric NP.

After flip-flopping numerous times between majors, I paused to think and eventually reached the logical conclusion that while Political Science and History are compelling and thought-provoking subjects, they are interests and nothing more. For History, it's a deep and lasting fascination that will stay with me for the rest of my life; however, to making a career out of it? No.

I have always wanted a career where I could help people, make a difference in their lives. I also wanted a career that would challenge me and push me every day to think critically and to grow. I also wanted a career that offered a good and stable salary. I wanted a profession that has limitless possibilities.

Nursing is that career.

I know it's pros, but I also know its cons all too well. My mother is registered nurse. I grew up on the horror stories of patients who tried to bite her, who screamed at her, who spat in her face, who kicked her. I saw the exhaustion on her face every morning after her shift. This profession is not an easy one. However, I also know that it's an advantageous career that not only allows the nurse to be at the front lines of the healthcare industry helping people, but also allows them to springboard into other careers due to its limitless possibilities.

My goal is to eventually become a Pediatric nurse practitioner, potentially working with Pediatric Oncologists to help ensure that children with cancer are provided with the best care possible. I am open to the possibility of becoming a nursing educator since there is a need for educators as well as bedside nurses. I've also considered possibly becoming a nurse scientist.

However, that's for later. For now, my focus is on becoming a Pediatric nurse practitioner. Anything beyond that is too far into the future to consider or to fully plan. It's merely an idea, a thought that can divert as time goes on and things change. At this time, I still need to speak with my advising team in order to draw up the map to this goal. After all, we need to journey wisely.

This brings me to what this blog is about. I have a personal blog which is more about general life stuff, thoughts, ramblings, photos from my travels, snippets of writings, and so on if you're interested.

But this particular blog is dedicated to study. It is specific to nursing students and health-care related majors — although I would like to think the things here would help anyone. I'll be filling the posts with tips that have helped me survive school so far (and things that impeded me along the way), my personal notes from class (sometimes typed and most likely handwritten), study guides, advice I can think of, advice that my mom has given me that may help you, advice from my professors and advisors, links to textbooks, or even scans of stuff I get in class.

Truth be told, I've never been a person that's good with “aesthetics” stuff. I prefer to get to the nitty gritty as it were. Sometimes, the posts won't look pretty. A lot of times, the writing may be messy (although, I gotta say that my cursive writing is still on point) that I may have to transcribe notes or rewrite them completely for my own sake. Look, sometimes, those professors speak too fast and my handwriting goes downhill to the point that when it comes time to study for exams, I have to make study guides.

It's here to help the both of us. For me, it gives me a chance to reinforce lectures and labs. After all, you have to be able to explain something to someone else in simple terms to truly say that you understand it. Hopefully, this blog helps you, even just a little.

At this time, this blog's content will be focused on pre-clinical courses (so things like Anatomy & Physiology, General Chemistry, Public Health, Statistics, General Psychology, Developmental Psychology, English). Later on, depending on how things go, things will shift to those nursing clinical courses. Although, if/when that transition does occur, I will still be posting general study help as well as advice and what not.

If you have any questions or need advice, send them either to ask.fm or to curiouscat.me. Please note that there are certain questions that I can't (& maybe won't) answer. If/when this is the case, make sure to go to your college/university's advisors for your major/program and ask them. Don't be shy, they're there to help you, as are the professors in the department.

Would you like to support me & my work? Why not buy me a cup of coffee? Thanks for the support!

Other social media accounts.

#aboutme