About Me

Hello! I'm Chris. And this is my personal, federated blog.

Contact

Contact me on Mastodon at:

Reach me by email at chris@sourcefoundry.org.

Follow Sweetmeat Posts

Follow by RSS

Use the https://write.as/sweetmeat/feed/ RSS feed in your favorite feed reader.

Follow on Mastodon

Follow this blog on Mastodon by entering @sweetmeat@write.as in your Mastodon instance search and clicking Follow.

Follow Software Development

You'll find my personal GitHub account at @chrissimpkins.

I lead the source-foundry GitHub organization and regularly contribute to the organization's source repositories. I've been the maintainer and lead developer on the Hack typeface project, a commonly used Bitstream Vera Sans Mono derivative family for programming language source code typesetting, and on a number of free software tools for font development.

I am a regular contributor to the googlefonts GitHub organization projects.

I am a member of the rust-lang organization and former member of the Rust Programming Language rustc Dev Guide Working Group that plans and develops documentation for the Rust compiler.

You'll find my other GitHub organization affiliations on my GitHub profile.

What is a “sweetmeat”?

The word 'meat' in 'sweetmeat' has nothing to do with animal flesh. In Old English, the word 'mete', from which we get the modern 'meat', meant 'food'. All items of food, both vegetarian and non-vegetarian, were called 'meat'. The original meaning of 'sweetmeat' was 'sweet food'

Source

Sugar confectionery includes candies (also called sweets, short for sweetmeats, in many English-speaking countries), candied nuts, chocolates, chewing gum, bubble gum, pastillage, and other confections that are made primarily of sugar. In some cases, chocolate confections (confections made of chocolate) are treated as a separate category, as are sugar-free versions of sugar confections. The words candy (Canada & US), sweets (UK, Ireland, and others), and lollies (Australia and New Zealand) are common words for some of the most popular varieties of sugar confectionery.

Source