Merc-Massey? McMassey?

Things that amuse me

You know those small SUV's most manufacturers are offering these days? Especially the German ones? Had one waiting for me at a pedestrian crossing this AM. Very impressive looking it was too, in sleek black with many trim highlights, especially the bright, shiny Mercedes badge front and centre.

But you also know that if you weigh up what this particular vehicle does compared to some other manufacturers and start to factor in purchase price plus total cost of ownership, it typically comes out that these are objectively pretty bad cars.

Just as well no one (myself included) purchases cars objectively! We pick what we want, and then use “data” after the fact to justify our decision. Did I mention the big shiny Mercedes badge front and centre? Good chance that was what this lady was purchasing. And it came with a car attached, which she obviously needed, so that was handy! So long as it makes her friends slightly envious, but not too much, then job done!

Anyway, enough late stage capitalism ranting, I want to talk about one of this cars features. Specifically the “green” feature that shuts off the car's engine when the vehicle is at a full stop and quickly restarts it again when the gas pedal is depressed (As in when you put your foot on it, not when it's experiencing an existential crisis nor feeling that it has no control over its existence).

The lady in question had selected one of the diesel options when purchasing this very flashy looking Merc. And because of that, when it restarts to my ears it sounds vey much like an old Massey Ferguson tractor! And this juxtaposition amuses me greatly. I grin every time!

I know I'm likely part of a dwindling minority that associates that noise with farming equipment, but associate it I do!

Maybe The Wurzels could write a song about it?

Ooh Arrr!