Who do these people think they are?

Things that amuse me

Taking advantage of a seemingly rare morning of bright sunshine to partake of a riverside stroll in my home town. Being a very built up urban area, the river could be better described as an outflow of sludge rather than more typically idyllic river scenes. Particularly after rainfall.

I was aware of a couple of manmade floating islands behind a footbridge, and this morning I noticed a sign in front of them. Taking time out of my stroll to read the sign repaid me in spades with amusement.

The two (quite small) floating islands had been funded by government grant to trial reintroduction of native river plants. There was some discussion of the reliance of ancient native peoples on the plants and what the river was like at that time – less concrete.

Nothing particularly amusing here. Just matter of fact statements, and probably a bit of an indictment on modern western civilisation's need to control every last thing.

But it was the copy-writer's choice to describe the plants as riparian vegetation that got me giggling. Who do these people think they are, Hyacinth Bucket? At least they weren't offering riparian entertainments! 🤣