I don't know what love is, and no, I don't want you to show me

No two relationships are the same. All of the examples I have to look at, whether it be my parents or a set of my married friends, vary wildly in the intricacies that make them successful. And those examples of not-so-healthy-relationships that I have to observe have provided many an educational moment that help me determine my ye's and neh's when it comes to relationships. I can point out things I like and don't like on both ends of the healthy relationship spectrum, but generally reserve asking questions for the couples that have a healthy partnership. You wouldn't ask a bankrupt person for financial advice so why ask for relationship advice from a pair who exhibits habits you consider toxic?

I know some of the people in my life have settled for their partners and it does happen, but I don't want that to be me. I do not ever want to feel desperate enough to settle for a man that loves me more than I care about him. I have had a relationship like that already and it is not something I would recommend to anyone.

The more I observe, the more I learn. And the less questions I ask, the more authentic interactions I see. Please don't fake a healthy relationship for the sake of your single friend who still are on the fence about legal commitment.