Mother of Darkness

“Valmah, my love!” choked Martin. “After all these years, this is how you finally betray me?”

“Betray?” Valmah replied coolly. “Join me Martin. We will command them together.”

“Let me go Valmah! Leave me to die in peace!” He begged.

Valmah's grip grew tighter. Her essence billowed with a violent giggle, and she unveiled a small blade. The dagger donned dark gemstones that siphoned the moon's illumination. As she raised the blade towards the grim evening sky, a blinding light radiated from the weapon.

Martin's screaming was silenced as the cryptic blade plunged into his broken heart. The obsidian night revealed no shadows as Valmah pulled the dagger out and walked away from her beloved husband.

The obedient and callous earth began to alter his body. Roots pierced his skin, growing and flowing throughout. A wave of dirt erupted from the ground crashing over his body. The gathering turf and stone transforming into a tempered layer of armor, reconstituting his fragile human skin.

Valmah thumbed the dagger and admired her flourishing garden.

“My organic soldiers,” she whispered.

It was almost time to wake them.

She cocked her head to see Martin thrashing mindlessly in pain. The beautiful stalk of Pachamama sprouting from the crown of his head.

“Rise, my king.”