Her Identity.....

Mark’ POV...

My name is Mark Lee, I am a Psych Student in this Uni. It’s my last year so everything have been really hectic last few months. But at last I can take a break and focus on my Dance Competition next month.

This is my best friend, Ramona Kwon, but I call her Ryu (or baby. Yeah, that baby baby haha). I have known her since day 1 in the Uni. Ryu has different major with me, she’s a Management Business student but we got same class in English study at our first year. Afterwards we became closer because she’s an introvert and I am her only friend.

Ryu told me everything about her life. From something a bit sensitive like family matters, to the most random things that will happen to you, like her cat fall into a trash bin because he try to catch a butterfly. If she’s not an introvert, I believe people will fall for her immediately because of her big personality.

Talking about fall for her, I have been falling for her since our second year. And when I told you I have been falling for her, I do falling REALLY HARD. Spending my day talking about everything with her will never be a waste of time. In that second year, I have decided to start calling her “baby”. She got mad at first because she think it will make other people misunderstand our relationship. Well I don’t mind with what people think, it’s just funny looking at her annoyed face. But now, she seems used to it, except when we’re in public. She will glaring at me and hit my arm if I call her baby in front of a lot of people.

You asked me how I realized that I fall for her? Hmm... Okay, I will tell you about that, but please, never tell Ryu about this. The story that I want to share to you is related to her biggest secret. It's about her true identity, it's about who really she is.

*****

Flashback...

Mark’s POV...

Springs has came and my second year in the Uni will be start in a week. But here I am, laying around in my dorm, playing some random games in my phone. I have arrived in my dorm since two days a go. Why? Because I got really sick with my family. I have one older brother and he is a very famous lawyer in the capital city, country even. My family always said “look at your brother, look at Tyrone. He got really successful as a lawyer. You should follow his path. Stop doing something useless like dancing. It won’t make you success like him.” and they will never gonna stop. This is the reason why I choose Psychology as my major, to shut them out and choose this Uni because this Uni is located in a small town. Even it's not that far from the capital city, at least my family won't come here since it's just a small town.

Speak of the devil, my brother call me. I am looking at my screen for a few second, hesitant to pick up or not. Eventually I press the green button then pressing my phone over my right ear “hello brother?” I greet him first “hello Mark? are you at the Uni right now?” he asked and I furrowed as I feel it’s kinda weird because he asked my whereabouts so suddenly “yeah, I’m at my dorm right now. Why?” I asked him back “great! I’m in front of your dorm right now, come down here please. I need to talk about something.” my furrowed got deeper, wondering what my brother doing here “okay, wait a minutes.” I hang up without waiting his answer as I got out from my bed and leave my room.

I walked out from my dorm main entrance, looking left and right, trying to find my brother. Then I hear someone calling my name “Mark! Over here!” I turn to the fountain right beside my dorm building. There he is, standing on front of a bench near the fountain. He is waving his hand so I can notice him. I walk towards him with a long strides.

In a seconds, I reached him already. I stopped 3 steps away right in front of him. Since I really hate hitting around the bush, I shot him with my question “what do you wanna talk? Is it about me joining the dance competition behind our family’s back again?” I stared at him lazily. He gave me a surprise looks then he laugh after. As he start to stop laughing, he sat on the bench “wow! Easy little brother. You know that I always support you with everything you do as long as it’s not against the law. Beside I came here because I have to talk about this, you are a friend of Ramona Kwon right?” he grabbed his bag, pulled out a file folder and handed it to me.

I am looking at my brother confusedly, accepting the file folder with both hands “what is this?” I asked him. He points to the file folder with his hand mindlessly, a cigar is in between his fingers “open it and read it yourself.” he said as he start lightning the cigarette. I do as I have told to, after reading that I’m glaring at him “what the fck is this brother?!” I shot him. He pull away the cigar from his mouth “it is as it is, just like what you have read on the paper.” I still didn’t understand and ask again “what is this have to do with Ryu?” he look back at me “Ryu?” he asked, confused. “Ramona” I said, then he make an O shape with his lips. He look away from me and blowing away the smoke.

I click my tongue as I got impatient since he didn’t answer my questions yet. I can see his lips start to moving “that girl is in danger and her family are dangerous. Her parents will send her away to London tomorrow. Her father’s rival have been threatening her family for weeks. Even they don’t know her face yet, not even her first name, her family need to do everything carefully now. As you can see, she’s the only heir of her family. Scratch that, her clan.” I start to frown as I put all my ear to him.

Tyrone’s eyes roaming around my Uni as he continues “as you know her surname is Kwon, that Kwon. They’ve been hiding her for years. Put her in a boarding school in different countries, moving her to another country every year so their rivals can’t track her down.” I got really shocked with what he just said.

I didn’t know what to reply, but seems like he’s not over yet “I got calls two days a go, they asked me to meet them at lunch time that day. They told me everything and I asked what is it have to do with me. Then their answer is really shocked me. They told me they will kill you, my baby brother if her true identity got leaked to the outside world because you are her only friend.” then he turned his head to me “that’s why I’m here. I need to warn you. Keep your mouth shut, act like you don’t know anything. I heard that she will arrives here anytime soon.” he look down, dropping his cigar and stomping on it.

I still processing everything inside my head but his last words caught my attention “wait, didn’t you said that they will send her to London tomorrow? Then why is she coming here?” I asked him, he leaned his back on the bench “well, that was their original plan. Not until the princess herself dropped to her knees, begging to her family elders to finish her study in this Uni. She even made an agreement with her father. She gave everything she have, even the rest of her life so just she can get the only thing she desires the most now.” I looked down and sigh deeply as I pinch the bridge of my nose “what is it?” I start to get a headache with this madness.

As if it is not enough, he drop the bomb “you. It’s you. Her only friend.” he said lightly and I shot my head back at him in disbelief. As if he can read my mind “no, you’re hearing it right. It is really you. But Mark...” he pause for a second, now he is looking at me with a very serious expression “I’ve been wondering, are you really her friend? Really just a friend? Because seems like it’s more than that since what she did really amazed me.” he said that with an amused expression. This bastard..... Can you see that? He just shows his true color. Ladies and Gentlemen, let me introduce my Older Brother, Tyrone Lee. He is an asshole.

TBC...

thesentinelll