The Missing…..

Flashback… (Their Second Year in the Uni)

Mark’s POV…

It’s Sunday and I decided to take Ryu out, enjoying the weather outside the Uni. You can call it Sundate since it’s like a date. We walk hand in hand, I treat her an ice cream that she love, have a brunch in her favorite cafe, and we are at the park on the riverside now.

There is a basketball field here, we walk pass through it when she suddenly ask “let’s play basketball Mel” she pull me toward the basketball field. I’m looking around the field “there’s no ball here babe, I didn’t bring mine either” after she realized that, she pout. I pinch her cheek “don’t be sad. How about we take a picture or a video here?” after hearing that, her face lit up. Smiling at me “can you record me there?” she points at the basketball ring. I nodded my head “sure, do anything you want” I said then pull out my phone from my jeans pocket. I turn on the camera “just tell me when you’re ready” I said. She walk toward the basketball ring, stop beside it “record me now Mel” she said. I nodded and pressed the red button. She moves like she shot a basketball to the ring, then smiling happily to me. My heart skipped a bit “God, why is she so cute tho?” I talked to myself. After that, we spent the rest of the day doing everything she wants.

*****

Mark’s POV…

It’s been three months since our new semester has started. I start to get really busy because the assignments won’t stop coming. Ryu has the same problem too. It’s really hard to maintain our communication nor meet each other. Not just because our assignments, since our major are different in the first place, sometimes we have a classes in different buildings too. I try to text her as often as I can and she did the same.

One day she got a group project and it turn into a madness. They have four people in her group, two girls and two boys. One of the boys is the biggest playboy in the Uni. He start to hitting on her. She start to feel uncomfortable with what he is doing but I’m glad the other girl, which turn out she is one of my classmates in my vocal class, try to protect her. Her name is Mina Kang.

It’s 11am, Ryu and her group project member decided to meet at the newest cafe in town. It’s a bit far from the Uni but I can trust her on Mina. Ryu just texted me, saying that she is on the way with Mina. I can’t go with her since I still have classes until 6pm. I called Mina, asking her to tell me immediately if there is something happen to Ryu. I can hear her annoyed tone “I said yes Mark! I can hear you clearly. Can you stop being paranoid and stop bothering me with your calls? We need to concentrate here. Beside, I did promise you that I’ll stick with her until we back at the Uni, didn’t I? She will be fine, so stop calling me jeeeezzzz….. I hang up now” she hang up without waiting for my reply. It’s relief me a bit since I can trust Mina, she is a good friend.

It’s 3pm now, I still have 30 minutes left until my next class. I try to call Ryu but she didn’t pick up. I text her instead, thinking maybe she is still busy. I waited for her reply for 10 minutes but nothing. I try to call Mina this time, she pick my call up after the third ring, I greet her “yo dude, are you still at that cafe with Ryu?” I hear a few noises before she answer “yo Mark, I’m on my way to the movies with my boyfriend now. I already drop Ramona five minutes a go, but she refused to be drop in front of the Uni. She asked me to just drop her at the traffic jam two blocks away from the Uni. I told her if she didn’t want me to take her to Uni, you will get mad, but she still refused. I can’t do anything about that” I got shocked by her answer. I ask Mina again “what?! Why did she refuse?” I pinched my nose bridge, Ryu really give me a headache sometimes. Mina answer my questions “She said she didn’t want to bother me and my boyfriend any longer. I told her that we are fine if we take her to the Uni first before we go to the movies, but she still insists. I’m sorry Mark” Mina apologize at the end. I sigh tiredly “no, you don’t need to apologize. I should be the one who apologize here because I trouble you with this matter. And thank you for taking care of Ryu. I’ll treat you and your boyfriend a brunch on next sunday. I’ll hang up now, I need to call Ryu” I said. Before I hang up the call, she reply quickly “it’s fine Mark. Okay, talk to you later” then I hang up.

I tried to call Ryu again but she still didn’t answer. I start to panicking. One tap on my shoulder pull my attention away from my phone “everything okay mate?” that’s Lucas, looking at me with confused expression. I told him about the situation and he nodded his head “calm down, maybe she’s still walking toward the Uni and her phone is inside her bag so she didn’t hear your call” he said, try to calm me down. “Lucas’s right Mark. Just wait for another ten minutes, I think she will be arrive anytime soon. She will be fine” that was Hayden Lee, my other friend. I let go a sigh, try to calm down. They are right, it’s not that far so she will be okay, right?

Five minutes later, I got call from Ryu and pick it up immediately. “baby, where are you? Why did you refuse to be drop in front of the Uni? I’m really worried here” I bombarded her with my questions before she greets me. I can hear her out of breath, she tried to speaks “Mel… Mel… help me. There are a few men have been following me since I got out of Mina’s car. Now I’m hiding in an alley near the river. Please come hurriedly, my phone is running out of batte—“ she stop talking and I can hear a few noises. “Ryu? Ryu are you still there? Ryu?” I call her a few times. “Mel, they are here” she whispered her answer. “shit! I’m on my way” I grab my jacket on the table, Lucas and Hayden looking at me with a question look “some assholes try to touch Ramona” I told them. They stood up from their sit “we coming with you” Lucas said.

“Ryu, don’t hang up our call okay. I’m on my way with Lucas and Hayden” I told her in a hush tone, try to calm her down. She hiccups her answer “o-okay…” and after that “well, hello there beautiful” I can hear a man’s voice and those bastard laughs. “stay away from me!” I can hear her scream. “ohoho, playing fierce are we?” that man’s said again, after that I can hear a few noises “calling the boyfriend huh? Well bye bye boyfriend” he snatched away Ryu’s phone. “nooooo—“ I can hear Ryu’s scream again before he hung up our call. “fuck!!! Lucas drive faster!!!” I scream my frustration to Lucas “I’m doing it man” he said that and really driving faster this time.

In a few minutes we arrived at the riverside. Lucas parked his car recklessly and we got out of the car immediately, start running around the area. “over there!” Hayden pointing at the farthest alley while looking at his phone, making sure he found the right place. Hayden is an IT student, he has been tracking Ryu’s phone since we got out of the Uni. We run towards the alley and the view when we arrived really made my blood boiled. There are four men holding on Ryu’s body, one man holding a phone with camera open, and another man standing right in front of her, which I assumed their leader. “bastards!!!” I scream at them and punch the leader’s face right after he turn around.

Author’s POV…

Mark punched the leader like a mad man. His men still in a shock state until Lucas said “you guys choose the wrong people to messed up with” he smirked after. Those men let go of Ryu and two of them try to help their leader as they start to fight Mark together this time. The other hand, Lucas stood tall in front of the rest of them. Looking at them with a smirk, ready to fight. Those three men are no match to Lucas, he have been learning martial arts since he is still in kindergarten. After he knocked the last man, he said “you assholes don’t know me? I’m Lucas man, Lucas!” he said that proudly as he walk through their unconscious bodies.

Lucas pull the leader’s body who tried to kick Mark on his stomach, he hold him still “here mate, I hold your punching bag tightly” he said that to Mark. Mark smirked at the Leader as he struggle, try to get away from Lucas. “eeeyy man, what are you doing? Can you stand still? My best friend is trying to give you your rewards” Lucas said that as he tightened his hold. Without any warning, Mark throw his final punch to the leader’s face with all his might. The leader got unconscious just like the other man. “What a trash” Lucas said that as he drop the leader’s body mindlessly.

After that, Mark and Lucas turn toward Ryu. She lost her consciousness “I already called the ambulance, they are on their way. I think she’s okay, she just tired. There’s a wound on her wrist but there’s nothing serious” Hayden said as he look at Mark. Mark let go a sigh of relief then Lucas put his hand on Mark’s shoulder “it’s a relief that we arrived at the right time. You can calm down now” Mark nodded at what just Lucas said. Mark crouching right to the next of Ryu’s body, brush her hair carefully “I’m sorry this has to happen to you baby” he said. He look up at his two friends “thank you for coming with me. I don’t know what will happen if you two are not here” he look at Lucas and Hayden back and forth. Hayden shake his head “it’s fine Mark. That’s what a true friend for” he smile.

When Mark and Lucas are busy beating up those men, Hayden ran toward unconscious Ryu. Since he can’t fight, he immediately try to help Ryu, pull her body away from the fighting area, check on her condition, and make an emergency call.

*****

Mark’s POV…

I’m at the hospital now, waiting for Ryu getting back her consciousness. Doctor said she is fine and her wounds are already treated. I am looking at her sleeping face and now I finally realize, the budging feeling in my heart that I have been feeling is not just a mere feeling. I finally realize right at the moment when she called me, crying for my help this afternoon, it’s not because the Kwons asked me to protect her. It is because I already falling for her. I am falling in LOVE with her. You may say that I got bewitched by her, not just her beautiful face, but her beautiful personality.

I sit beside Ryu’s bed, holding her hand, when suddenly my phone ringing. It’s from my brother “hello?” I greeted him. “Mark, I need you to come to the Kwon’s main HQ now. I’ll see you there” then he hung up without waiting for my answer. I let go a sigh, tonight will be a long night.

Before we got here, I call Tyrone, tell him everything about what happen. Not long after, a few men in suits come, they took those bastards away. I swear to God I don’t wanna know what would happen to them.

Before I go, I call Mina, ask her if she can stay at the hospital for a while. I wait for her to arrive in front of Ryu’s room. Mina come with panicked and worried expression on her face. She shake my body when she reached me “is she okay? Please tell me she’s okay” she said that, nearly crying. I hold her shoulders “Mina, calm down. She’s fine. There’s no serious injures, so please calm down” she started sobbing after I said that “I’m so sorry Mark. I’m really sorry. I should have dropped her in front of the Uni like what you told me. This is not gonna happen if I listened to you and force her” I can feel that she’s feeling guilty.

I rub her back, try to calm her “you don’t have to apologize Mina. Besides Ryu’s the one who doesn’t want to bother you. It’s fine. Now get inside, I need to go to take care of something” she nodded and brush away her tears. She took a deep breath “okay. Drive safely, it’s almost midnight. Comeback immediately when you are done. I believe she will looking for you when she’s awake” I nodded at her “okay. I’m going now” then I start to walk away.

TBC…

(Mina Kang – Mark’s classmates in vocal class)

(Hayden Lee – Mark’s Friend)

thesentinelll