I Found My Old Journal

I found my old journal. It's embarrassing and interesting to read. Reading your own thoughts and hearing you own voice are pretty similar. They're both embarrassing.

I was pretty big into Harry Potter at the time. One of the things that brought a smile to my face was the journal was about Finding 5 Magical Moments everyday. Not life changing magical—one of the moments was about the perfect fall colored leaf. The journal project was called “Finding Magic in the Little Things.”

Rereading it makes me wonder when I stopped looking. From my journal, it sounds like a breakup 😅. The journal starts off with me moving to Seattle and exploring the area. Adventures to Pike's Place, my first fall in Seattle, and finding new coffee shops are most of the magical moments.

Gradually, I started writing about friends and becoming more than friends. Then the writing stops.

I stopped writing and journaling for a while after that. You should never let someone else define you magic.

I knew I wanted to journal again. I've thrown away journals in the past only to buy a new one. I think I kept this one because it's a limited edition Moleskine. Looking for the magic was another thing I wanted to keep doing. I just didn't want to write anything new down and have it turn into a painful memory.

With the world as it is right now, I'm going to start looking for the magic again. It's too easy to be mean and find something to dislike. Appreciation seems hard to find and give.

This past week I found out I'll be able to stop taking medicine soon. I also made Milk Bread for the first time. It was delicious. I also found my old journal and remembered to find magic in the little things.

Day 3 of #100DaysToOffload #findingMagicInTheLittleThings