In the months prior to my diagnosis, one specific prayer I made was that I would have a direct encounter with God’s love. I cannot really piece together now why I had that specific prayer at that point in time, but I do remember thinking that it would be answered in a dramatic way: a vision, something cataclysmic. And I guess that a health crisis is pretty profound. But the way that prayer was answered was much more subtle. Since that time, I’ve encountered what I can only describe as God’s love through the care providers that my health crisis has put me in contact with. Doctors, yes, to some degree, but mostly it’s been the nurses and then also people in food service, people cleaning the facilities, people transporting me from place to place. There have just been a lot of genuinely loving people showing care and kindness. In the tougher moments, this bouys me.